Mühlhausen

Mühlhausen’s city wall with the Innere Frauentor and Rabenturm
(Wirtschaftsbetriebe Mühlhausen GmbH; Photo: Tino Sieland)

Mühlhausen, the city in the heart of Germany, is situated in northwestern Thuringia, between the mountain ridge of the Hainich and the Eichsfeld. The former Imperial City greets its visitors with numerous church steeples and an almost completely preserved city wall, an ideal place to experience history first hand.

Already from afar you can see the Marienkirche in the upper town, the largest church of Thuringia after the Erfurt cathedral. Here the radical reformer Thomas Müntzer preached, making Mühlhausen the center of the German Peasants’ War. The best overview over the old city with its medieval network of roads and alleys and its lovingly restored town houses can be had from the raven tower (Rabenturm) next to the Innere Frauentor, from which parts of the city wall can be accessed. Located at the lower market (Untermarkt) the Gothic hall church Divi Blasi is Mühlhausen’s second principal church. The church is closely connected to the name of Johann Sebastian Bach, the composer and church musician, who was employed here as organist from 1707 to 1708. The Schurke-organ from 1959 was built following the “Disposition” drawn up in 1708 by Bach himself.

Mühlhausen is renowned for its decades-long commitment to the preservation of its historic buildings. Churches in particular have been restored at great expense. For some churches new concepts of usage have been developed. St. Jakobi, for instance, today houses the city library, giving the once sacred room a completely new feel.

The town hall was the centre of the medieval Imperial City of Mühlhausen. The Gothic structure with its council chamber, whose walls have been embellished with splendid painting in the Renaissance era, also houses the municipal archive containing the records from the Imperial City period. Established in 1615 it has survived the times and today still houses the original furnishings containing the written records up to 1802, the period in which Mühlhausen was a free Imperial City. The most famous document in the archive is the Mühlhausen law code from the second quarter of the 13th century, the oldest of all German-language city statute books.

Mühlhausen/Thuringia (bird’s eye view)

Conference venue Puschkinhaus

Mühlhausen

Die Mühlhäuser Stadtmauer mit Innerem Frauentor und Rabenturm
(Wirtschaftsbetriebe Mühlhausen GmbH; Foto: Tino Sieland)

Mühlhausen, die Stadt im Herzen Deutschlands, liegt eingebettet zwischen den Höhenzügen des Hainichs und des Eichsfeldes im nordwestlichen Thüringen. Besuchern präsentiert sich die ehemalige Reichsstadt mit ihren vielen Kirchtürmen und dem fast geschlossenen Stadtmauerring als Ort, an dem Geschichte unmittelbar erfahrbar wird.

Von weither schon grüßt Besucher die Marienkirche in der Oberstadt, die größte Kirche Thüringens nach dem Erfurter Dom. Hier predigte der radikale Reformator Thomas Müntzer und machte Mühlhausen zu einem Zentrum des Deutschen Bauernkriegs. Den besten Überblick über die Altstadt mit ihrem mittelalterlichen Straßennetz und den liebevoll restaurierten Bürgerhäusern bietet der Rabenturm am Inneren Frauentor. Von hier aus kann man auch einen Teil der Stadtmauer begehen. Am Untermarkt befindet sich die zweite Hauptkirche der Stadt, die gotische Hallenkirche Divi Blasii. Sie ist mit dem Namen Johann Sebastian Bachs eng verbunden. Hier war der Komponist und Kirchenmusiker 1707–1708 als Organist tätig. Die Schuke-Orgel von 1959 wurde nach der 1708 von Bach selbst verfassten „Disposition“ neu erbaut.

Bekannt ist Mühlhausen für ein jahrzehntelanges Engagement zum Erhalt der historischen Bausubstanz. Insbesondere die Kirchen wurden mit großem Aufwand saniert. Für viele ersann man neue Nutzungskonzepte. St. Jakobi etwa beherbergt heute die Stadtbibliothek, die den Kirchenraum völlig neu erlebbar macht.

Die mittelalterliche Reichsstadt Mühlhausen hatte ihr Zentrum im Rathaus. Der gotische Bau mit seiner in der Renaissance neu ausgemalten Ratsstube beherbergt auch das Reichsstädtische Archiv. Im Jahr 1615 eingerichtet, hat es die Zeiten überdauert und beherbergt heute noch im originalen Mobiliar die schriftliche Überlieferung aus der reichsstädtischen Zeit Mühlhausens bis 1802. Das berühmteste Zeugnis ist das Mühlhäuser Rechtsbuch aus dem zweiten Viertel des 13. Jahrhunderts, das älteste in deutscher Sprache verfasste Stadtrechtsbuch überhaupt.

Mühlhausen/Thür. aus der Vogelperspektive

Tagungsort Puschkinhaus