Imperial City as an Argument

Mühlhausen/Thür., February 12 to February 14, 2018

Sixth academic conference of the Research Working Group “History of the Free Imperial Cities”, in cooperation with the Friedrich Lesser Stiftung and the Historical Society of Mühlhausen.

Conception

In the power structure of the German Empire the Imperial Cities held a special status. Thanks to the imperial immediacy they enjoyed freedoms that other cities did not possess: they were represented on court meetings and the Imperial Diet, and they were better protected from the grip of the princes. This increased their scope for action and entailed far reaching autonomy which they demonstrated more or less clearly vis-à-vis other cities and towns. On the other hand, Imperial Cities were also more affected than ‘regular’ towns by imperial politics such as throne disputes, Interregnum, the search for peace within the Empire, and religious questions. Imperial immediacy thus often entailed dangers and additional burdens, for instance being compelled to support the Empire in military conflicts or financially.

To be a free Imperial City was therefore not only a question of the legal status within the Empire, but more than anything else it was a political question – depending on very specific constellations of power – and a question of the perception and self-awareness of the urban elites.

Hence, the meaning of the status ‘Imperial City’ was not clearly defined but rather a result of negotiation processes which perpetually re-defined the status of Imperial Cities. So depending on its particular circumstances it could be advantageous for a city to emphasise its status as Imperial City, or it could be advisable to deny its privileged position within the Empire in order, for example, to fend off claims by the King and Emperor.

The conference ‘Imperial City as an Argument’ attempts to reveal specific and recurrent patterns of argumentation and contexts over the extended period from the late Middle Ages to the End of the Holy Roman Empire and to discuss them in a comparative perspective. What comes to the fore in this discussion is the basic question of the self-image of cities as Imperial Cities.

… conference programme

Reichsstadt als Argument

Mühlhausen/Thür., 12. bis 14. Februar 2018

Sechste wissenschaftliche Tagung des Mühlhäuser Arbeitskreises für Reichsstadtgeschichte in Verbindung mit der Friedrich-Christian-Lesser-Stiftung und dem Mühlhäuser Geschichts- und Denkmalpflegeverein e. V.

Konzeption

Im Ordnungsgefüge des Alten Reiches nahmen Reichsstädte eine Sonderstellung ein. Unmittelbar zu König und Reich genossen sie Freiheiten, die andere Städte nicht besaßen, traten auf Hof- und Reichstagen auf und waren durch ihre Reichsunmittelbarkeit vor den Zugriffen der Fürsten besser geschützt. Dies wiederum eröffnete ihnen größere Handlungsspielräume und weitreichende Autonomie, die sie gegenüber anderen Städten mehr oder weniger deutlich hervorhoben. Andererseits waren Reichsstädte von reichspolitischen Problemen wie Thronstreitigkeiten und Interregnum, den Bemühungen um einen Reichsfrieden und kirchenpolitischen Fragen viel unmittelbarer betroffen als andere Kommunen und damit immer wieder mit besonderen Gefahren und zusätzlichen Belastungen etwa durch militärische oder finanzielle Hilfen für das Reich konfrontiert.

Reichsstadt zu sein war somit nicht nur eine Frage der rechtlichen Stellung im Ordnungsgefüge des Reiches, sondern vor allem eine politische Frage, abhängig von konkreten Herrschaftskonstellationen und nicht zuletzt eine Frage der Wahrnehmung und des Selbstverständnisses städtischer Eliten.

Was es bedeutete, Reichsstadt zu sein, war deshalb keineswegs klar festgelegt, sondern vielfach das Ergebnis von Aushandlungsprozessen, die den konkreten Status von Reichsstädten immer wieder neu definierten. So konnte es für eine Stadt, abhängig von ihrer jeweiligen Situation, von Vorteil sein, ihre tatsächliche oder auch nur beanspruchte Sonderstellung als Reichsstadt zu betonen, andererseits war es mitunter sinnvoll, den Reichsstadtstatus zu leugnen, wenn damit Ansprüche von König und Kaiser abgewehrt werden konnten.

Die Tagung „Reichsstadt als Argument“ versucht, über einen langgestreckten Zeitraum vom Spätmittelalter bis zum Ende des Alten Reiches spezifische und wiederkehrende Argumentationsmuster und -kontexte herauszuarbeiten und vergleichend zu betrachten. Dabei rückt die grundsätzliche Frage nach dem Selbstverständnis von Städten als „Reichsstädte“ im Mittelalter und in der Neuzeit in den Fokus.

… zum Tagungsprogramm