Imperial Cities and Money

Mühlhausen/Thür., February 27 – March 1, 2017

Fifth academic conference of the Research Working Group “History of the Free Imperial Cities”, in cooperation with the city of Mühlhausen and the Historical Society of Mühlhausen.

Conference Topic

Market and monetary economy belong to the founding narratives of urban history, in particular of the history of Imperial Cities. Even though large Imperial Cities remained independent of their surrounding region, markets – as centres of exchange – were contested zones of influence. The successive extension of monetary economy offered new avenues for storage and profit maximisation, faster and more convenient payment methods, and last but not least a new value system based on monetary value.

The origin of this development was an unstable currency. At first a royal prerogative, the right to mint coins was passed successively, through pledge and purchase, to the Imperial Cities. Although imperial immediacy made Imperial Cities more independent in financial matters, they remained vulnerable to the kingdom’s meddling in currency issues. Imperial Cities had a particularly ambivalent relationship towards taxes.

From the perspective of the cities, in the ideal case revenues exceeded expenses. Forms of pragmatic calculation and textuality offered categories of order for long-term calculation, which were also used to plan the cities’ budgets. However, bookkeeping alone was not enough to compensate for structural deficits. Not every Imperial City was wealthy; several were under threat to lose their imperial immediacy for being permanently indebted. Moreover, who was actually covering debts and granting credits in a society that claimed to uphold the Christian prohibition of “usury”? Which social groups within the Imperial Cities profited of the expanding monetary economy? How did the relation shift between common good and self-interest, between loan and property? These and other questions will be addressed, diachronically as usual, at the fifth academic conference of the Mühlhausen-based Research Working Group on the History of the Free Imperial Cities.

… conference programme

Reichsstadt und Geld

Mühlhausen/Thür., 27. Februar bis 1. März 2017

Fünfte wissenschaftliche Tagung des Mühlhäuser Arbeitskreises für Reichsstadtgeschichte in Verbindung mit der Friedrich-Christian-Lesser-Stiftung und dem Mühlhäuser Geschichts- und Denkmalpflegeverein e. V.

Konzeption

Markt- und Geldwirtschaft gehören zu den Gründungsnarrativen der Stadtgeschichte, zumal der Reichsstadtgeschichte. Zwar blieben selbst große Reichsstädte von ihrem Umland abhängig, doch boten sich mit dem Markt als Zentrum des Austauschs weitere Einflusszonen. Eine sich sukzessive ausbreitende Geldwirtschaft lieferte neue Möglichkeiten der Aufbewahrung und Gewinnmaximierung, schnellere und bequemere Zahlungsmodalitäten und zugleich ein auf Geldwerten basierendes neues Wertesystem.

Die Basis einer solchen Entwicklung war eine stabile Währung. Zunächst königliches Regal, ging das Recht, Geld zu prägen, über Pfand und Kauf nach und nach auch auf Reichsstädte über. So unabhängig viele Reichsstädte durch ihre Reichsunmittelbarkeit gerade in Bezug auf die Geldwirtschaft wurden, so anfällig blieben sie für währungspolitische Eingriffe des Königtums. Zwiespältig war besonders das Verhältnis zur Steuer.

Innerstädtisch überstiegen die Einnahmen im besten Falle die Ausgaben. Formen pragmatischer Rechenhaftigkeit und Schriftlichkeit boten Ordnungskategorien zur langfristigen Kalkulation auch für städtische Haushalte. Allerdings konnte Buchführung allein strukturelle Defizite nicht ausgleichen. Nicht jede Reichsstadt war auch tatsächlich reich. Etliche waren durch dauerhafte Schulden in ihrer reichsunmittelbaren Stellung bedroht. Und wer deckte in einer angeblich vom christlichen Zinsverbot gehemmten Wirtschaft überhaupt Schulden und vergab Kredite? Welche sozialen Gruppen profitierten innerhalb der reichsstädtischen Gesellschaft von der expandierenden Geldwirtschaft? Wie verschob sich gar das Verhältnis von Gemeinem Nutzen und Eigennutz oder von Leihe zu Eigentum? Diesen und ähnlichen Fragen wird sich die fünfte Tagung des Mühlhäuser Arbeitskreises für Reichsstadtgeschichte in gewohnt diachronem Zugriff widmen.

… zum Tagungsprogramm